At the Store

I’ve toyed with opening my own store, but the stumbling blocks listed above have shown I really don’t want to do that. I’ll continue to post free samples with links to the big stores. Let them handle sales tax, wishlists, tracking. I will stick to writing and getting the word out. Thanks for a terrific post.

Deborah Cooke & Her Books

I’ve decided to scale back my online store and ultimately dismantle it. It was an experiment and a learning experience, and one which I began almost a year ago. It’s time to look at the data and make conclusions, then apply them.

What did I learn?

1. My readers don’t tend to buy digital content directly from me.
This might be because readers prefer to shop at a specific retailer, in order to have a record of what they’ve bought before. It might be because they don’t know how to sideload content onto their e-reader. (The number of times many people download individual free samples hints at this.) It might be because my store doesn’t have one-click buying, or a wishlist, or reviews, or who knows what other features.

I’ve also heard that readers think buying directly from the author should save them money—unfortunately, that’s not possible to do, because…

View original post 744 more words

Leave a Reply

