A Day in the Life of This Writer

     I’m usually at my desk by 7am, butt planted firmly on my balance ball. I either write or edit for the next three to four hours before taking a break to look at e-mail, Facebook and Twitter. If there is anything I need to respond to, I do it in small increments in what is left of the morning. By small I mean 15-minute segments. And I use a timer. Otherwise, social media becomes a sinkhole I don’t 3-minute-sand-timer-egg-timeremerge from for hours.
     Lunch, usually a walk to clear my head, and back to work in the afternoon with an emphasis on social media. I respond to all Facebook posts directed to me. I spread my promotions for my books in up to 40 different groups throughout the week. Yes, I’m anal enough to have a schedule for which groups I post in when.
     Twitter follows. I use nearly 30 different #hashtags to raise awareness of my books. I set aside 18 minutes each day to set up a week’s worth of tweets in a  Twitter storm about my books, giveaways, special sales, etc.  Late in the day, when I’m nearly brain dead, I set one Twitter storm for a friend’s book. I try and promote books I’ve read or authors I like or members of my literary agency or publisher. I pay it forward.
     When I stop around 6pm, I turn off all electronic toys unless I’m reading on my tablet. I don’t look at Facebook, Twitter, e-mail or anything else. I do answer the phone and respond to texts. Other than that, I unplug.
     The next day, I wash, rinse and repeat. I do this at least six days a week.
     Now that I look at what I do, You’ll notice I don’t work late at night. I don’t sit with a cigarette clenched between my lips, head tilted to keep the smoke from my eyes. I don’t keep a bottle of Scotch on my desk. What I do is write.
     I don’t see that exciting “life of a writer.” I see a hard-working writer who works her butt off to put words on paper that you might like to read.
Care to join me??
6 thoughts on “A Day in the Life of This Writer

  1. I spread my promotions for my books in up to 40 different groups throughout the week. Yes, I’m anal enough to have a schedule for which groups I post in when.
    Twitter follows. I use nearly 30 different #hashtags to raise awareness of my books. I set aside 18 minutes each day to set up a week’s worth of tweets in a Twitter storm about my books, giveaways, special sales, etc.

    This is gold.

    Like

    • Hi Lynn, glad you think it’s gold. I have a newsletter that comes out every two months (right now). I may move it to monthly soon… Would you like to be on it? (No is an acceptable answer…) – Betsy

      Like

  2. Hi Betsy, Thanks for writing about your day. I always wondered how writers manage their time–writing, editing, blogging, FBing, tweeting, instagramming. It seems endless and overwhelming. Your post was very instructive. Thank you. Ellen

    Like

Leave a Reply

